Atlantic 45 of the week: Castle Kings – You Can Get Him Frankenstein / Loch Lomond (Atlantic 2107 1961)

Every week I will print an entry from my forthcoming book “US Atlantic Singles 1947-77″. This week is the turn of obscure vocal group the Castle Kings who recorded two singles for the label during 1961:

2107 CASTLE KINGS

You Can Get Him Frankenstein (Adlum, Ertegun, Spector) / Loch Lomond (Traditional)

Billboard Pop: none Billboard R&B: none
Recorded: 16th Mar 1961.
Released: Jul 1961.
Other issues: none.
Available On: A side: Monster Bop – Various (Buffalo Bop 55013 1994). B side: Ultra Rare Rockin’ & Boppin’ Volume 1 – Various (Chief 1156511 1993 Netherlands).

“You Can Get Him Frankenstein”, co-written by Phil Spector and Ahmet Ertegun, was one of a number of early sixties rock and roll records inspired by the golden age of Universal horror movies. Many of these are collected on the Buffalo Bop compilation Monster Bop (see title box). The biggest of all was the 1962 chart-topper “Monster Mash” (Garpax 44167) by Bobby “Boris” Pickett and the Crypt-Kickers.

The Castle Kings themselves were a vocal group who cut two singles for Atlantic before promptly disappearing into obscurity. “Loch Lomond” was indeed a version of the mournful Scottish anthem given an up-tempo rockabilly treatment that left it all but unrecognisable.

8 responses to “Atlantic 45 of the week: Castle Kings – You Can Get Him Frankenstein / Loch Lomond (Atlantic 2107 1961)

  1. Any knowlegdge as to where any of the old vinyls can be purchased for this group? I’d like to hear the ‘horror’ from that era.

  2. I’m a cousin of Frank Tinelli who sang lead on You Can Get Him Frankenstein. I remember him telling me that Ahmet Ertigan was walking behind them while they were singing and when Mr. Ertigan heard them he brought them in for an audition and that was that. It was a very exciting time!

    • My name is bob legere I grew up on story ave and remember that group thanks l sang with diferent guys from castle hill ave and the projects l remember that day they were running around talking about the record they had just cut thanks for the memories

  3. I have another 45 on Atlantic Cut by the Castle Kings 45-2158
    white label promo The Caissons Go rolling Along b/w Jeanette.
    Probably never released.

  4. I was able to purchase their second recording on the White Atlantic promo label. As Charles stated “The Caissons Go Rolling Along” and “Jeanette”. I believe Jimmy Walker of the “Knickerbockers” and “Righteous Brothers” fame was a member of the Castle Kings. He has stated in interviews he was with “The Castle Kings” before joining up with the “Knickerbockers”.

  5. This song is awsome! My feet cant stop moving :-) My first visit but i´ll be back. 5+ of 5.
    Rock´n Roll is here to stay!

  6. After I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment
    is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment. Is there
    a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  7. I remember the castle kings formely kown as the quimby boys from quimby ave off castle hill ave in the bronx I believe that is where the name castle kings came from

Leave a Reply

