Albums of the year: #30

EL-P: I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead

Dense, sonically thick and wordy hiphop of the highest order. Probably El-P’s best solo effort to date. I listen to a lot less hiphop than I used to do – especially new stuff. Most of what I do hear bores me rigid, recycling the same old beats and the same old subject matter. It’s become as predictable and lame as indie guitar rock. I’m sure I must be missing a lot of good stuff because I’m not really paying attention. I think this was the only rap album I bought this year – at least the only one released in 2007.

“Smithereens” video

Leave a Reply

