Album: TRUE COLOUR OF BLOOD – All Of The True Things I’m About To Tell You Are Lies (Gears Of Sand 2008)

True Colour Of Blood is the recording alias of Eric Kesner from Washington, DC. All Of The True Things I’m About To Tell You Are Lies is an album containing ten tracks of dark ambient dronescapes put together using guitar, mixer and tape manipulation. There are no keyboards or samplers involved. Kesner says on his website that “I haven’t used any keyboards because I feel that I can get a more interesting sound out of a guitar. I also find it to be more of a challenge to get the sounds I want from a guitar. Let’s be honest, anyone can get atmospheric, ambient soundscapes out of a keyboard. I’ve been playing guitar for over twenty years and I would feel like I was cheating if I used a keyboard, it’s too easy. It feels more pure to me to use guitar.”

The music is slow-moving and dark – like a creepy urban counterpart to Stars of the Lid’s pastoral melancholy. Some tracks are so minimal that the subtle changes barely register until after a few listens. “Of”, for example, is a sixteen minute piece that gets from A to B only to find that the difference between the two is barely apparent. This is not a criticism. When changes do occur, they are almost jarring. “Illegally Jailed For Applauding The Violent Death Of A World Leader” (great title) has a subterranean pulse that is barely audible, and a sinister series of almost dissonant chords. This is menace on an almost subconscious level.

“A Man Alone Is Simply God” takes the ambience to extremes, barely registering as sound at all. “Once Was Blind But Now I’m Deaf” is almost violent in its intensity by comparison. “Somnifer”, at seventeen minutes, is probably longer than it need be and sounds much like “Of” part two. The title track introduces a defined melody that actually sounds like it’s played on a stringed instrument. It’s a hauntingly beautiful coda, that brings a kind of post-apocalyptic dawn to the unrelenting night that has passed before it.

All Of The True Things I’m About To Tell You Are Lies is an excellent example of minimalist ambient drone. It’s not recommended as something to go to sleep to, unless you enjoy very dark dreams.

Tracks
1.Upon These Shores 4:03
2.Tomorrow And Tomorrow And Tomorrow Creeps In This Petty Pace From Day To Day 4:13
3.Of 16:38
4.Defy 6:06
5.Illegally Jailed For Applauding The Violent Death Of A World Leader 6:55
6.A Man Alone Is Simply God 5:36
7.Once Was Blind But Now I’m Deaf 4:45
8.Somnifer 17:17
9.Sisyphus 8:19
10.All Of The True Things I’m About To Tell You Are Lies 3:46

Websites
www.tcobambient.com
www.myspace.com/tcobambient

 

One response to “Album: TRUE COLOUR OF BLOOD – All Of The True Things I’m About To Tell You Are Lies (Gears Of Sand 2008)

Leave a Reply

