Oxjam Ashton Lane 2008

The annual jamboree that is Oxjam takes place in and around Ashton Lane in the West End of Glasgow this Sunday (26th). There are supposedly around 60 acts scheduled to play on eight stages in the various bars, kicking off just after lunchtime and going on till 1am. Loads of folk I’ve never heard of (plus a few that I have) – but it’s all in a very good cause.

Details can be found here.

3 responses to “Oxjam Ashton Lane 2008

  1. I’m thinking of going along to this, though the five day forecast isnt promising. Can’t say I recoginse any of the acts, and that surely can’t be the same Loose Lips Sink Ships I had on the second Phantom Channel comp.

    So. do you have any recommendations?

  2. It’s not the most highly organised thing in the world – note that the flyer doesn’t even have a date on it. So even if I had specific recommendations, I wouldn’t have a clue when they were actually playing or at what time.

    As for the weather – there is one outdoor stage, but most will be inside in the various bars so it shouldn’t be an issue.

    The only two acts on that list I’ve definitely seen before are Woodenbox and Odeon Beat Club. But who knows who else may end up playing

  3. Actually, I recognise Meuersalt now and if it is the right guy, he’s a reclusive experimental guitarist.

    And I may check out The Droogs simply for their Antony Burgess reference!

    Thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

