EP: REMORA – Guitar Antihero (Silber 2009)

This 25 minute freebie by Remora aka Brian John Mitchell consists of a single piece recorded live in May 2009. For this performance, four guitars and a bass were amped up and placed around the stage to pick up vibrations from the main guitar / effects / amp set up that Mitchell was using. The result is a background of harsh drone and feedback, with frequencies sometimes hitting seriously uncomfortable squeal. Rather than thrash about on his instrument, Mitchell plays it softly, almost absent-mindedly, teasing small plucked melodies and gentle strums out of it, and letting the power of electricity and vibration do the rest. The result is something that is both fiercely loud, but also quite serene. Obviously, the recording struggles to reproduce the effect that this piece had live, especially if played at a sane volume. Even so, it’s an interesting work, and certainly makes me want to experience Remora live. Barry Esson, get on the case for Instal 10!

Tracks
1. Guitar Antihero 25:41

Websites
www.silbermedia.com/downloads/
www.myspace.com/remora

3 responses to “EP: REMORA – Guitar Antihero (Silber 2009)

  1. Luísa cospe a comida no prato, levanta-se e sai da sala a correr. Só tenho uns trocos. Ainda esta viva? Não sei! Esta viva! A porta não abre. Entra pelo pára-brisas. Mas eu não queria ser salva por estes homens, queria um príncipe a cavalo. Tentei gritar mas não o consegui fazer. Varias mãos agarraram-me no corpo dorido, arrastaremos para cima do capo e estenderam-me no chão.

  2. For non-Portuguese speakers, I put this through Babelfish and got:

    Luísa cospe the food in the plate, is arisen and left the room to run. I only have chunks. Still this alive one? I do not know! This alive one! The door does not open. It enters for the windshield. But I did not want to be saved by these men, I wanted a prince the horse. I tried to cry out but I did not obtain it to make. You vary hands had grasped me in the dorido body, we will drag for top of the hood and had extended to me in the soil.

    No, me neither

Leave a Reply

