The week #1

Coming up to this blog’s third birthday. Lack of time means that I can’t write as much as I want to about stuff, especially with the amount of music I’ve got in my ‘to listen to’ pile. So I thought I’d start a weekly blurb of bits and pieces, general thoughts etc. that otherwise wouldn’t get an airing.

Coming soon – reviews of Erik XVI remixes and a new album by Redhooker. Tonight, though, I’ve been listening to Manifesto, a compilation I was sent by the FeedbackLoop Label back in early December (I know). It’s a terrific genre-bending release available free from the label for download from feedbacklooplabel.blogspot.com. The music ranges from gentle, ethereal pop, to blasts of electronic noise and everything in between. It’s a fantastic collection that features some acts I’ve written about before like Karlheinz Essl, Pintail, Elisa Luu and Subterminal, but many others that are new to me. A couple of tracks that leaped out on first listen were the 12 minute turntable static and found sound epic by Aaldo and the ghostly “The Night Sky” by Jednota feat. Wood Nymph. If I get the chance, I’ll do a proper review.

Mojo this month has a cover CD of Syd Barrett’s The Madcap Laughs reinterpreted by various folk. It’s a decidedly mixed bag as these things often are, but I liked the Mascis, Besnard Lakes, Hope Sandoval and Hawkwind tracks.

Telly wise, I’m a Mad Men addict, and season three is proving just as brilliant as the previous two.

Not much else to report. I’m headed down south for the first time in a year next weekend. Should catch the mighty Windsor & Eton FC, currently unbeaten and 17 points clear at the top of the Zamaretto South West division, take on Mangotsfield. Heady days!

3 responses to “The week #1

  1. Thank you for another great post. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in this kind of a ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am to the look for this kind of information.

Leave a Reply

