General blether

I’m going to be away from my computer for a week so there’s going to be nothing doing re: the review pile for that period. I have got the backlog down to a dozen or so things.

One or two things I like:

Jamie Woon’s new single “Night Air” is one of the best songs I’ve heard in a long while. It’s a kind of mix between an R&B/pop tune and something far darker and ghostly. It’s a good song – definitely daytime radio material, but underneath there is something quite different going on with a haunted guitar strum and all manner of half-buried murmurings. It wasn’t really a surprise to learn that he’s a mate of Burial’s. There’s definitely that hallmark.

It’s been around a while, but James Blake’s CMYK still does the business for me.

Mary Anne Hobbs has her final show on Radio One on Thursday 9th. Let’s hope they fill the slot with something leftfield and forward thinking. She’ll be missed. She has a very special guest on her final show whose identity is shrouded in secrecy. Pure speculation on my part. But maybe it’s this chap (not Four Tet):

I can’t think who else she would be so mysterious about.

One response to “General blether

Leave a Reply

